i’m thinking….

June 1, 2008

that i want to cook! (: like gosh, i just wanna plan meals, and chop up ingredients..!! WASH DISHES!! EAT MY FOOD!!<3

problem with taking up a new hobby is, that you never know when to start. You have to bug yourself. I always had my mummy to bug me, I always bug other people. But its so difficult to bug myself. Gee. Haahaa! Let’s see. I’m always fantasizing about making dessert like honey dew sago, the sago dessert with brown sugar? CAKE?? muffinsmuffins!!

Thai food? Ohman, american hamburgers, and my auntie’s own clam chowder! (which is very expensive seeing how one can of clams are 8 bucks in the supermarket now). KOREAN FOOD. kimchi is driving me nuts! I never thought i’d love the taste of kimchi by itself- I can just scoop a spoonfull and eat it with rice! Like seriously. I can drink kimchi soup, eat kimchi omelette, have it fried in fried rice? But NOTHING is like eating it on its own (: My dad has a wonderful colleague who’s korean, and she makes fabulicious kimchi. *drools*

I wanna learn how to make korean kimchi from cabbage-vinegar scratch!! (:

The wonderful sourish brown salad sauce they serve at NewYork New York? I wanna make my own dips too! I fantasize about organising my own cocktail parties. If I really am, (after doing it for awhile, and I discover along the way that I’m) passionate for this cooking thingy, and I happen to be good at it, (and don’t cause people to die of food poisoning or disgust) CAN YOU IMAGINE MAKING A LIVING OUT OF THIS? (:

I’m thinking about money and worrying about money all the time now this must so so stop. Haha.

But then being rich just… You know people entertain thoughts about having a carefree lifestyle, without having to work or worry about anything. Tea with their friends at high end restaurants or cafes, endless browsing in boutiques, setting up a cake shop and not bothering whether you earn money or not. Manicuring your nails, keeping fit at the gym, dancing for fun. boring.

I think that being normal gives you freedom status and wealth takes away. I like my mum. She doesn’t care two hoots about what people think about her. She sets her own expectations, not living in a cave of course, but decides what she believes in, and she sticks to it. She buys what she wants to buy, wears what she wants to wear, and doesn’t care about the latest fashion. She sets trends on her own. See, I like that. When you enter the ‘rich circle’ there is constant pressure, or rather, I think I would be subjected to pressure about dressing presentable (standards of presentable would probably change every week), updating the wardrobe following the latest trends, or at least, wearing something that resembles it; I don’t know, what else is there?

Being normal is being free. Hahaha. Maybe I’m naive, maybe I don’t know that much yet. I don’t know. I like the image of a 4 room flat. Homey. Peach walls and wooden flooring. A nice sofa in the living room with a printed scarf on it to add colour. One painting, and many pictures. A DVD collection in one corner, and a shelf full of books on the other.

I read this book – bamboo and lace by lori wick, I’ve read it 2 or 3 times, I don’t remember- and I actually want to buy it. I’m definitely heading down to SKS this week. I have so many christian fiction novels I want to buy! In the book, there’s this big family that owns a resort in hawaii! (: Its so homely. 3 families sharing the house I think. Brothers and sisters. The children play, they have bible study, they go surfing! They have this resort pool- during the off peak season, because water is a very important thing in the lives of this family, they have this schedule chart, where the married couples can spend time in private bonding, and catching up in the pool. They just need to book a slot. How organised. HAHA! (:

I’m going all over place. What I’m thinking remember? (:

lalalala

3 Responses to “i’m thinking….”

  1. Clarice said

    I LOVE YOU! 😀

    can’t wait for this saturday!

    and yeah, i do realize this has no link to your post, but you don’t have a tagboard!

  2. jon said

    i know how to make korean food.

    1.Buy nongshim korean ramen instant noodlez
    2.put boiling water
    3.eat

    absolute fab.

  3. Sasha said

    Haha Rachel! When I think of you cooking, or of home ec, I always remember you slapping the burger patties into the pan before heating the oil 🙂

Leave a comment